Skip to content
    Back To Blog

    Ambassador Andrew Young Jr., Pinky Cole, Datari Turner, Charles D. King, and more honored and celebrated at the 2023 HBCU POWER Awards presented by Amazon and Ford at Morehouse College

    November 30, 2023

    The HBCU Power Awards 2023 was the epicenter of cultural excellence as several notable global leaders were honored for their hard-work and achievements during the 2023 Homecoming season. The HBCU Power Awards honors the achievements and accomplishments of HBCU alumni and supporters who are making innovative and vanguard achievements in business, sports, philanthropy, media, music, technology, television, film, politics, civil service, and fashion. 

    The evening kicked off with an explosive performance from the Morehouse College House of Funk Marching Band with the 2023 awards show hosted by Isaac Keys (Morehouse College '01, Power IV Force/Starz) and Brandon Marshall (Dave Chapelle Tour) with DJ Trauma (Clark Atlanta University) as the host resident DJ.

    The 2023 honorees include: Ambassador Andrew Young (Civil Rights Icon/Howard University); Pinky Cole (CEO, Slutty Vegan/Clark Atlanta University), Charles King (CEO, MACRO/Howard University), Cynthia Bowman (SVP Chief Diversity Officer, Bank of America/Spelman College), Datari Turner (President, Foxxhole Productions), April Ryan (White House Correspondent/Morgan State University) and Henry Goodgame (VP, External and Alumni Relation/Morehouse College). The audience erupted and was captivated by the soulful R&B vocals of Leon Thomas in-which he did not disappoint and the night culminated with a full band performance filled with energy, style, and class from the legendary R&B hit maker, Keith Sweat.

    Screenshot 2023-11-27 at 9.53.55 AM(Pictured: Honoree Henry Goodgame;; L to R- Jash’d Kambui Belcher and Mr.& Mrs. David A Thomas, President of Morehouse College)

    The HBCU Power Awards was created and Executive Produced by Sundance Film Producer and CEO of HBCU Power, Jash'd Kambui Belcher (Morehouse c/o ‘98, ‘99), and Executive Produced by Producer/Actor Derek "Fonzworth" Watkins (Morehouse c/o '96) and CEO of URGE Development Group/Chief Strategist of URGE Imprint Roderick Hardamon (Morehouse c/o '98), and Actress/Producer Faune Watkins (Spelman c/o '23); The 2023 HBCU Power Awards were sponsored by Ford and Amazon along with Amazon Music, Amazon Prime, Morehouse College, MACRO, and Bank of America.


    (Pictured: LIVE performance from R&B Legend Keith Sweat)



    Other posts you might be interested in

    View All Posts
    December 18, 2020 | Morehouse Faculty

    Morehouse College Helps Produce Rhodes Scholar Phaidra Buchanan

    Congratulations Phaidra Buchanan, on being named a 2021 Rhodes Scholar! Phaidra participated as a Mathlete in Morehouse College community outreach program, Annual Math... Read More
    June 25, 2019 | Inside Morehouse

    Morehouse College Nominated For Best HBCU of the Year

    Morehouse College has been nominated as a finalist for the 2019 HBCU Awards in three categories, including “Best Historically Black College of the Year.” Read More
    October 12, 2023 | Alumni Achievement


    The HBCU Power Awards has announced that civil rights icon, former Atlanta Mayor and living legend, Andrew Young will receive the "Icon Award" at this evening of... Read More